

Oversight and Goverance Chief Executive's Department Plymouth City Council Ballard House Plymouth PLI 3BJ

Please ask for Democratic Advisor T 01752 305155 E democraticsupport@plymouth.gov.uk www.plymouth.gov.uk/democracy Published 6 February 2020

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Friday 14 February 2020 3.00 pm Council House, Plymouth

Members:

Councillor Sam Davey, Chair Councillors Deacon, Downie, Evans OBE, Michael Leaves and Murphy.

Members are invited to attend the above meeting to consider the items of business overleaf.

For further information on webcasting, attending Council meetings and how to engage in the democratic process please follow this link http://www.plymouth.gov.uk/accesstomeetings

Tracey Lee

Chief Executive

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Agenda

I. Note the Appointment of the Chair

The Committee will be asked to note the appointment of the Chair for the municipal year 2019/20.

2. Apologies

To receive apologies for non-attendance submitted by Committee Members.

3. Declarations of Interest

Members will be asked to make any declarations of interest in respect of items on this agenda.

4. Minutes (Pages I - 2)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 19 February 2019.

5. Lord Mayoralty 2020/21

To recommend to City Council a suitable person to fill the office of Lord Mayor for the year 2020/21.

Lord Mayor Selection Committee

Tuesday 19 February 2019

PRESENT:

Councillor Mrs Aspinall, in the Chair.

Councillors Mrs Beer (substitute for Councillor Ball), Mrs Bridgeman, Evans OBE, Murphy and Mrs Pengelly (substitute for Councillor James).

Apologies for absence: Councillors Ball and James.

Also in attendance: Siân Millard (Oversight and Governance Manager) and Helen Prendergast (Democratic Advisor).

The meeting started at 10.00 am and finished at 10.06 am.

Note: At a future meeting, the committee will consider the accuracy of these draft minutes, so they may be subject to change. Please check the minutes of that meeting to confirm whether these minutes have been amended.

1. **Appointment of Chair**

Having been proposed by Councillor Murphy and seconded by Councillor Mrs Beer, it is <u>agreed</u> that Councillor Mrs Aspinall is appointed Chair of the Lord Mayor Selection Committee for the municipal year.

2. **Declarations of Interest**

There were no declarations of interest made by Councillors in accordance with the code of conduct.

3. **Minutes**

The Committee <u>agreed</u> that the minutes of the meeting held on 16 February 2018 are confirmed as a correct record.

4. **Lord Mayoralty 2019/20**

The Committee sought nominations for the Lord Mayoralty 2019/20. Having been nominated by Councillor Mrs Bridgeman and seconded by Councillor Murphy, it was agreed unanimously to extend a cordial invitation to Councillor Richard Ball to accept the office of Lord Mayor for the following municipal year.

Councillors waited upon Councillor Richard Ball who, on arrival, expressed his appreciation at the nomination which he was delighted to accept.

Page 2

Agreed that it is unanimously recommended to City Council that it approves the appointment of Councillor Richard Ball as Lord Mayor for the 2019/20 municipal year.